I can do that

We can all be creative. See? Here’s a bird’s nest my cousin made.

I’ve never been so creative in my life. I feel like I’m finally getting into the things I really love and making time to explore different aspects of creation. This summer I’ve written posts and journaled and sketched; I’ve designed in Photoshop and InDesign; I’ve read and sang and baked and made playlists and taught myself guitar. I’ve dabbled in both film and digital photography; I’ve even edited a few videos.

I think these few weeks have been a great time of preparation for the coming school year. I’m really looking forward to my senior year, but I want to be sure I make the most of my time left in college. I really want to enjoy my time, to not waste it, and I think taking advantage of my creative talents will make this year my best. [I’ve also been doing some major prep for my screenwriting class in the fall. I’ve still got a very long way to go, though.]

I’m looking forward to continuing to create new things. With the exception of Photo 1 and  Graphic Design 1 in college, I haven’t had an “art” class since seventh grade, so I fell out of the habit of doing random projects for fun. I used to draw maps of worlds I created. I used to draw a lot of things, but I got to the point that I didn’t even doodle in class when I was bored. It’s been really fun for me to explore all sorts of different arts and interests, and I can’t wait to see where this takes me in the future. I’m also excited to have something to do again in less-exciting classes, haha.

I most recently finished a business card design for a friend. My next idea I want to pursue is “fregetables,” whatever that may look like. [A “fregetable” is the combination of a vegetable and a fruit. The word itself, besides being incredibly fun to say, is a sort of inside joke.] I have a few ideas for a Photoshop design.

Then again, I may change my mind. I can do that; I’m a girl.

Leave a comment

Filed under Creativity, Life

Leave a Reply

