Friday Favorites: special “Mom” edition

Mom blowing out the candles on her cake.

Happy sixth birthday, mom! Well, six-candled birthday…

So I kind of missed the 24-hour period that is typically referred to as Friday this week, but I’m not apologizing. That is because my Friday, just like this post, has been specially dedicated to my mom on her birthday.

While both parents had a big impact on my love of music, today is about my mom. She was my first fan at band concerts, even when I was laughably, er, unskilled at alto saxophone when I first started. She was my first duet partner, as we sang along to songs in the car or I taught her what song I learned at school that day. She helped me have the confidence to sing in front of people in church and helped me learn all the words to many a song in the thick hymnals lining the church pew. She even bought me my first guitar, which I’m only now learning to play—and she’s patiently handling what odd twangs come from her house at all times of the day or night.

My mom means much more to me than just music, of course, but since 1) this is a mainly music-themed blog, and 2) there’s no way to possibly explain how much my mom means to me, I’ll leave you with this:

Happy birthday, Mom! Thank you for all you do, and I love you so, so much.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Friday Favorites: special “Mom” edition

  1. This just makes me smile!. :o) Hope you all had a lovely day celebrating together.

Leave a Reply

